ELIPSS

The DIME-QUANTI instrument, through its ELIPSS (Longitudinal Online Social Science Survey) panel, is a project that produces questionnaire-based surveys for the scientific community.
It is based on a random sample (3000 individual) of the population resident in Metropolitan France, whose members have been supplied with an Internet connected touchscreen tablet on which to answer monthly surveys.

Objectives

The purpose of Dime Quanti is to give the scientific community the means to produce data to the highest methodological standards.

Because the Elipss sample is randomly drawn, the academic surveys selected can achieve the benchmark criteria of statistical quality. In addition, the longitudinal nature of the survey is a strong feature, since there exist very few large-scale panel data for social science research.

A secondary objective of the Dime Quanti project is to develop methodological research, in particular by supporting innovative projects and experiments on survey design. Finally, the documentation and dissemination of the data produced by the project is intended to promote their reuse and therefore to contribute to cumulative research processes.

Positioning

Elipss is part of an international landscape of online panels intended for the scientific community.

Use of the Internet has developed very quickly in the last 15 years in the field of marketing surveys and opinion polls, mainly because of the low costs and speed of collection possible with the web.

In a report on online surveys (Baker1, 2010), AAPOR (American Association for Public Opinion Research) draws attention to the significant biases in online “access” or “opt-in” panels as a way of conducting general population surveys. Although Internet access has grown rapidly since the early 2000s, part of the population is still off-line. In France in 2017, for example, 15% of the population were still without home Internet access. This lack of coverage automatically excludes part of the population from online surveys. Moreover, the use of access or opt-in panels with non-probabilistic samples casts doubt on their representativeness and on the extrapolation of results.

Nonetheless, the advantages of online surveys very quickly attracted social science research, in particular as a way to compensate for the drop in response rates in traditional surveys.

In order to overcome the biases flagged by AAPOR, an online panel needs to be constructed using a random sample of the population. This means employing an off-line method of recruitment (face-to-face or by telephone) to include people without Internet access and, if necessary, to provide them with an Internet connection (Das, Ester and Kaczmirek, 2011)2.


In consequence, several initiatives emerged in the academic world: the LISS Panel developed by CentERdata at the University of Tilburg in the Netherlands and the Knowledge Panel in the United States were the first to use probabilistic sampling. France with ELIPSS and Germany with GESIS and GIP followed in 2011 (Blom et al., 2016)3. Other probabilistic panels designed for research were then set up in Norway, in Sweden, in Iceland, and in the UK.

The methods used to recruit and include people without Internet access differ between these national schemes. ELIPSS is original in that it gives all the panellists Internet access by supplying them with touchscreen tablets connected to the mobile network. The methodological advantage of this model is that it ensures that all the respondents have the same questionnaire format and that it avoids certain measurement distortions caused by different presentations of the questions.

Operation

Submitted in response to calls for proposals, the surveys to be distributed to the ELIPSS panel are selected by the DIME Quanti Scientific and Technical Committee. The ELIPSS team then supports the research teams in the design of the questionnaire and manages the different stages of survey production: scheduling the questionnaire, testing, data collection via the ELIPSS application, field monitoring and reminders, and finally providing the project’s initiators with an exploitable data file.

After a maximum of one year’s exclusive access to the data for the teams that coproduce an ELIPSS survey, the data are added to the CDSP catalogue and made available to the whole scientific community.

Contributions

By giving multiple teams the means to conduct a survey, ELIPSS is able to collect an impressive variety of detailed data, which cast light on the most recent changes in social conditions, practices and attitudes in France in a very large number of spheres.

The richness of these data makes it possible to undertake in-depth analyses of the dynamics running through French society, both because of the very large quantities of individual data collected on the practices, habits and attitudes of the panellists, and because of the longitudinal dimension of some of the surveys, whose questions are repeated several times at regular intervals in order to identify changes in behaviours and opinions at the most granular level.

Beyond the information they provide on French society, the numerous domains explored through the ELIPSS surveys make it possible to explore how this knowledge is constructed and the conditions in which it is produced. In fact, the use of online questionnaires administered on a touchscreen tablet supplied to the respondents makes it possible both to innovate methodologically, by developing and testing new ways of constructing questions and questionnaires for the general population, and to compare the data produced in this way with those obtained by other survey techniques, in France and in other countries.

Prospects

The ELIPSS project depends on a variety of skills: online survey design, panel management, or indeed protection of respondent confidentiality.

The aim today is to exploit these different skills to support new research projects. In future, the project will also need to emphasise the development of methodological research into the improvement of questionnaire-based survey methods.


  1. Baker, R., Blumberg, S. J., Brick, J. M., Couper, M. P., Courtright, M., Dennis, J. M.…Zahs, D. (2010). Research synthesis: AAPOR report on online panels. Public Opinion Quarterly, 74, 711–781
  2. Das, M., Ester, P., Kaczmirek, L., (2011), Social and Behavioral Research and the Internet: Advances in Applied Methods and Research Strategies, Routledge.
  3. Blom A., Bosnjak M., Cornilleau A., Cousteaux A.-S., Das M., Douhou S., Krieger U. (2016), “A Comparison of Four Probability-Based Online and Mixed-Mode Panels in Europe”, Social Science Computer Review, vol.34, n°1, p.8-25

ELIPSS

L’instrument DIME Quanti, au travers de son panel ELIPSS (Étude Longitudinale par Internet Pour les Sciences Sociales) est un dispositif de production d’enquêtes par questionnaire destiné à la communauté scientifique. Il repose sur un échantillon aléatoire (3000 personnes) de la population résidant en France métropolitaine dont les membres ont été équipés d’une tablette tactile connectée à Internet pour répondre à des enquêtes mensuelles.

Objectifs

DIME Quanti vise à doter la communauté scientifique de moyens de production de données à partir des standards méthodologiques les plus élevés.

Grâce au tirage aléatoire de l’échantillon ELIPSS, les enquêtes académiques sélectionnées peuvent atteindre les critères de qualité statistique de référence. La dimension longitudinale de l’instrument est également un axe fort du dispositif puisqu’il existe très peu de données de panel1 de grande envergure pour la recherche en sciences sociales.

Un objectif secondaire du dispositif DIME Quanti est le développement de la recherche méthodologique notamment grâce à l’accompagnement de projets innovants et d’expérimentations sur le design d’enquêtes.

Enfin, la documentation et la diffusion des données produites par l’instrument vise à favoriser leur réutilisation et participe ainsi à la cumulativité de la recherche.

Positionnement

ELIPSS s’inscrit dans le paysage international des panels sur Internet à destination de la communauté académique. Le recours à Internet s’est très rapidement développé au cours des quinze dernières années dans le secteur des enquêtes marketing et des sondages d’opinion, principalement en raison des faibles coûts et de la rapidité de collecte que permet le web.

Dans un rapport sur les enquêtes par Internet (Baker2, 2010), l’AAPOR (American Association for Public Opinion Research) attire l’attention sur les biais importants des access ou opt-in panels (interrogation des internautes) lorsque l’on s’intéresse à la population générale. En effet, si l’accès à Internet s’est fortement accru depuis le début des années 2000, une partie de la population n’est toujours pas connectée. Par exemple en France en 2017, 15% de la population reste sans accès à domicile. Ce défaut de couverture exclut de fait une partie de la population des enquêtes en ligne. De plus, le recours des access ou opt-in panels à des échantillons non probabilistes remet en cause leur représentativité et l’extrapolation des résultats.

Pour autant, les avantages des enquêtes par Internet ont très tôt intéressé la recherche en sciences sociales notamment pour pallier la baisse des taux de réponse dans les enquêtes traditionnelles.

Afin de dépasser les biais soulignés par l’AAPOR, il convient de construire un panel Internet à partir d’un échantillon aléatoire de la population. Ceci suppose de recourir à un mode de recrutement hors‐ligne (en face-à-face ou par téléphone) pour inclure les personnes qui n’ont pas accès à Internet et de les équiper d’une connexion le cas échéant (Das, Ester and Kaczmirek, 2011)3.

Plusieurs initiatives ont ainsi vu le jour dans le monde académique : le LISS Panel du CentERdata de l’université de Tilburg aux Pays-Bas et le Knowledge Panel aux États-Unis sont les premiers à avoir utilisé un échantillonnage probabiliste. La France avec ELIPSS et l’Allemagne avec le GESIS et le GIP ont suivi ces exemples dès 2011 (Blom et al., 2016)4. D’autres panels probabilistes destinés à la recherche ont ensuite été mis en place en Norvège, en Suède, en Islande ou encore au Royaume-Uni.

Les modalités de recrutement et d’inclusion des personnes sans accès à Internet diffèrent entre ces dispositifs nationaux. L’originalité d’ELIPSS est de fournir l’accès à Internet à tous les panélistes par la mise à disposition de tablettes tactiles connectées au réseau mobile. Ce modèle a pour avantage méthodologique d’assurer l’équivalence du format des questionnaires pour tous les répondants et éviter certains biais de mesures liées à des présentations de question différentes.

Fonctionnement

Proposées dans le cadre d’appels à projets, les enquêtes soumises au panel ELIPSS sont sélectionnées par le comité scientifique et technique DIME Quanti. L’équipe ELIPSS accompagne alors les équipes de recherche sélectionnées dans la conception du questionnaire et prend en charge les différentes phases de la réalisation de l’enquête : la programmation du questionnaire, les tests, la collecte des données via l’application dédiée, le suivi du terrain et les relances, jusqu’à la restitution aux porteurs du projet d’enquête d’un fichier de données exploitable.

Après une exclusivité maximale d’un an pour les équipes ayant co-produit une enquête ELIPSS, les données viennent enrichir le catalogue du CDSP pour être mises à disposition de l’ensemble de la communauté de scientifique.

Schéma de fonctionnement d'Elipss

Apports

En donnant les moyens à de nombreuses équipes de recherche de réaliser une enquête, ELIPSS recueille une variété impressionnante de données détaillées, qui éclairent sur les évolutions les plus récentes des situations sociales, des pratiques et des attitudes en France dans un très grand nombre de domaines.

La richesse de ces données permet de mener des analyses poussées des dynamiques qui traversent la société française, à la fois grâce aux très nombreuses informations individuelles collectées sur les pratiques, les habitudes et les attitudes des panélistes, et grâce à la dimension longitudinale de certaines des enquêtes, dont les questions sont répétées plusieurs fois à intervalles réguliers afin de saisir les évolutions les plus fines des comportements et des opinions.

Au-delà même des connaissances produites sur la société française, les nombreux terrains d’enquêtes réalisés avec ELIPSS offrent la possibilité d’interroger la constitution même de ce savoir et les conditions dans lesquelles il est produit. En effet, l’administration de questionnaires via Internet au moyen d’une tablette tactile mise à disposition des répondants permet à la fois d’innover méthodologiquement, en faisant émerger et en expérimentant de nouvelles manières de construire des questions et des questionnaires en population générale et de comparer les données ainsi produites avec celles obtenues au moyen d’autres techniques d’administration d’enquête, en France et dans d’autres pays.

Perspectives

Le dispositif ELIPSS repose sur des expertises variées :

  • design d’enquêtes par Internet,
  • suivi de panel,
  • ou encore protection de la confidentialité des répondants.

Il s’agit aujourd’hui de mettre à profit ces différentes expertises pour accompagner de nouveaux projets pour la recherche.

La poursuite du dispositif doit également mettre l’accent sur le développement de travaux méthodologiques pour continuer à améliorer les méthodes d’enquêtes par questionnaire.


  1. Un panel est un ensemble d’individus qui, dans le cadre d’une étude spécifique, sera interrogé à plusieurs reprises et dont il est possible de suivre l’évolution des opinions et comportements. Le baromètre, même s’il est répété dans le temps, interrogera des personnes différentes à chaque administration.
  2. Baker, R., Blumberg, S. J., Brick, J. M., Couper, M. P., Courtright, M., Dennis, J. M.…Zahs, D. (2010). Research synthesis: AAPOR report on online panels. Public Opinion Quarterly, 74, 711–781
  3. Das, M., Ester, P., Kaczmirek, L., (2011), Social and Behavioral Research and the Internet: Advances in Applied Methods and Research Strategies, Routledge.
  4. Blom A., Bosnjak M., Cornilleau A., Cousteaux A.-S., Das M., Douhou S., Krieger U. (2016), “A Comparison of Four Probability-Based Online and Mixed-Mode Panels in Europe”, Social Science Computer Review, vol.34, n°1, p.8-25