beQuali

The beQuali/DIME-QUALI instrument is an archive of qualitative social science surveys available to the research and teaching community. The catalogue offers raw data, collected using qualitative methods (observations, interviews, focus groups, etc.), as well as additional analytical and contextual material on the research process, intended to facilitate the handling of the archive.

Objectives

Designed to give France an archive of qualitative political science and sociology surveys equivalent to those of other European countries (UKDA, etc.), DIME-SHS be-Quali represents both a continuation and expansion of the work accomplished by the ANR’s réAnalyse project, which sought to test the possibilities of reanalysing French qualitative surveys.

In the same spirit, beQuali seeks to capitalise on existing and often under-analysed qualitative data, for purposes of secondary analysis or reanalysis, comparison or teaching. The preservation and dissemination of qualitative social science surveys also has a dimension of transparency, which reinforces the scientific character of qualitative research.

The retrospective documentation of the surveys and the development of exploration tools are at the heart of the project, intended to further understanding of the survey materials and, in particular, to improve the conditions of training in research through the use of real and tested data.

Positioning

BeQuali fits into an international landscape of qualitative databanks created for the scientific community. Although beQuali is not comparable with the UK Data archive or with Harvard’s Henry A. Murray research archive (in terms of numbers of surveys or personnel), the instrument shares the same goal of making data available for reuse by researchers and of preserving social science materials.

Moreover, the beQuali survey archives has no equivalent in France and is therefore a pioneer in the hitherto empty French landscape of survey preservation and archiving (reports by Braibant1, 1996 ; Silberman2, 1999 ; Cribier and Feller3, 2003).

Aspiring to compare with international databanks and a frontrunner at national level, beQuali is undertaking a major task of documentation and re-contextualisation on the surveys in order to facilitate and encourage reuse.

Operation

The surveys that form the catalogue are selected on different scientific or feasibility criteria by a scientific and technical committee (STC). The scientific community is invited to submit its projects through a call for proposals issued at least once a year.

The beQuali team processes the materials in the selected surveys, uploads them to the beQuali site and references them on the download platform Quetelet Progedo Diffusion.

Part of beQuali’s role is to preserve research data and it is planning to archive the surveys available at the National Higher Education IT Centre (CINES).

Schéma de fonctionnement de beQuali

Contributions

There is strong interest in the academic community in having access to qualitative survey materials. Making the beQuali materials available thus publicises the work of the researchers who produced it and allows others to reuse it, in particular for the purpose of comparison or new interpretation (reanalysis, comparison, etc.). In addition, there are considerable benefits in sharing these materials for the teaching of qualitative methods.

As well as the raw material (interviews, preparatory documents, etc.), beQuali provides documentation that contextualises the research process: a “survey into the survey” is included in the form of a written report accompanied by audio extracts of interviews with the researchers who conducted the surveys.

Although it is still too soon to draw definitive conclusions about what lessons can be learned from this experiment in terms of research and teaching, the first reuses show the benefits that can arise from giving these materials a second life. For example, revisiting a survey on the political representations of the French 30 years on made it possible to enrich the original typology by reintegrating sections of the material that could not be included at the time.

Another example, a piece of research on parliamentarians in France and in Germany was substantially broadened by the inclusion of interviews originating in another piece of research conducted a few years earlier.

Beyond this, the availability of these materials offers new pedagogical possibilities for a growing number of teachers wishing to use alternative sources to tackle methodological issues differently, as well as the big questions of sociology or political science. In this sense, beQuali is helping to provide the scientific community with the resources needed for genuine methodological research to develop in France, comparable with the situation that already prevails, for example, in the Anglo-Saxon world.

Prospect

At present, the aim is to exploit beQuali’s activity by continuing to develop the catalogue of surveys, both numerically and in terms of disciplines and methods employed (focus groups, observations, etc.).

In a context of open research data and with the aim of broadening the services offered to the scientific community, beQuali provides support for projects during the implementation process (participation in the establishment of a Data Management Plan). The goal is to help research teams to manage the data they produce in anticipation of their eventual inclusion in the beQuali survey bank. The aim is also to initiate good practices in terms of documentation, storage and archiving, and thereby to facilitate and accelerate the dissemination of these surveys.

In parallel, beQuali continues its work to facilitate the use of the materials already available. A teaching kit is currently being developed that teachers will be able to use as “turnkey” material for their classes in qualitative research methods.

beQuali

L’instrument beQuali / DIME-Quali est une banque d’enquêtes qualitatives en sciences sociales à disposition de la communauté de recherche et d’enseignement. Le catalogue propose des données brutes, collectées à partir de méthodes qualitatives (observations, entretiens, focus group, etc.), ainsi que des matériaux d’analyse et de mise en perspective du processus de recherche visant à faciliter la prise en main de ces archives.

Objectifs

Destiné à doter la France d’une banque d’enquêtes qualitatives en science politique et en sociologie, équivalente à celles d’autres pays européens (UKDA, etc.) l’instrument beQuali de DIME-SHS prolonge et pérennise notamment le travail accompli par le projet ANR réAnalyse visant à tester, dans le contexte français, les possibilités de réanalyse d’enquêtes qualitatives.

Dans cette lignée, beQuali vise à capitaliser sur les données qualitatives déjà existantes et souvent sous-analysées, pour permettre leurs utilisations secondaires comme la ré-analyse, les comparaisons ou l’utilisation pour l’enseignement. La sauvegarde et la mise à disposition des enquêtes qualitatives en sciences sociales revêtent également une dimension de transparence qui permet de renforcer la scientificité de la démarche qualitative.

La documentation des enquêtes a posteriori et le développement d’outils d’exploration sont au cœur du projet pour favoriser la compréhension de ces matériaux d’enquêtes et améliorer notamment les conditions de formation à la recherche à partir de données réelles et éprouvées.

Positionnement

BeQuali s’inscrit dans le paysage international des banques d’enquêtes qualitatives à destination de la communauté scientifique. Même si beQuali n’est pas comparable au UK Data archive ou au Henry A. Murray research archive d’Harvard (en termes de nombre d’enquêtes mises à disposition ou d’effectif humain), l’instrument a les mêmes ambitions de mise à disposition de données à destination des chercheurs à des fins de réexploitation et de préservation de ces matériaux.

La banque d’enquêtes beQuali est cependant sans équivalent en France et se positionne donc en pionnier dans ce paysage français en retard en matière de sauvegarde et d’archivage des enquêtes (rapports Braibant1, 1996 ; Silberman2, 1999 ; Cribier et Feller3, 2003).

Se voulant équivalente aux banques de données internationales et précurseur au niveau national, beQuali propose un travail important de documentation et de recontextualisation des enquêtes afin de toujours faciliter et encourager les réutilisations.

Fonctionnement

Les enquêtes qui composent le catalogue sont sélectionnées selon différents critères scientifiques ou de faisabilité par un comité scientifique et technique (CST). La communauté scientifique est invitée à soumettre ses propositions dans le cadre d’un appel ouvert au moins une fois par an.

L’équipe beQuali traite les matériaux d’enquêtes sélectionnées et assure leur mise en ligne sur le site beQuali et leur référencement sur la plateforme de téléchargement Quetelet Progedo Diffusion.

BeQuali s’inscrit également dans une démarche de préservation des données de la recherche et prévoit un archivage au Centre informatique nationale de l’Enseignement supérieur (CINES) des enquêtes mises à disposition.

Schéma de fonctionnement beQuali

Apports

Il existe un intérêt fort de la communauté académique pour la mise à disposition de matériaux d’enquêtes qualitatives. La mise à disposition des corpus beQuali valorise ainsi le travail des chercheurs producteurs et permet à d’autres de les réutiliser afin de produire notamment des comparaisons ou de nouvelles interprétations (réanalyse, comparaison, etc.). De plus, l’intérêt du partage de ces matériaux en termes d’enseignement des méthodes qualitatives est considérable.

En complément des matériaux bruts (entretiens, documents préparatoires, etc.), beQuali fournit une documentation permettant de contextualiser le processus de recherche : une enquête sur l’enquête est proposée sous la forme d’un rapport écrit accompagné d’extraits audio d’entretiens des chercheurs ayant réalisé les enquêtes.

Même s’il est encore trop tôt pour tirer un bilan définitif de ce que cette expérience a permis d’apprendre en terme de recherche et d’enseignement, les premières réutilisations montrent l’intérêt que peut avoir le fait de donner une seconde vie à ces corpus. Par exemple, la revisite4, à 30 ans de distance, d’une enquête sur les représentations politiques des Français a permis de compléter la typologie originale en réintégrant des pans du corpus qui n’avait pu alors être pris en compte. Autre exemple, une recherche sur les parlementaires en France et en Allemagne5 a pu être très élargie par l’intégration d’entretiens issus d’une autre recherche menées quelques années plus tôt.

Au-delà, la disponibilité de ces matériaux offre de nouvelles possibilités pédagogiques à un nombre croissant d’enseignants désireux d’utiliser des sources alternatives pour aborder différemment les questions de méthode tout comme les grands objets de la sociologie ou de la science politique. En ce sens, beQuali contribue à fournir à la communauté scientifique les moyens pour que se développe en France une vraie recherche méthodologique, à l’image de ce qui prévaut déjà dans le monde anglo-saxon notamment.

Perspectives

Aujourd’hui, il s’agit de mettre à profit les expertises6 de beQuali afin de continuer à développer le catalogue d’enquêtes à la fois en nombre et également en terme de disciplines et de méthode employée (focus groups, observations, etc).

Dans le contexte d’ouverture des données de recherche et dans une volonté d’élargir les services proposés à la communauté scientifique, beQuali propose un accompagnement des projets en cours de réalisation (participation à la mise en place de Data management plan). L’objectif est d’aider les équipes de recherche à gérer les données qu’elles produisent en anticipant leur éventuelle mise à disposition sur la banque d’enquêtes beQuali. Il s’agit également d’initier des bonnes pratiques en terme de documentation, de stockage et d’archivage et de rendre ainsi ces enquêtes plus facilement et rapidement communicables.

En parallèle, beQuali poursuit ses actions afin de favoriser les usages des corpus mis à disposition. Un kit d’enseignement est actuellement en cours de réalisation afin de permettre aux enseignants d’utiliser facilement un corpus “clé en main” pour leurs cours de méthodes qualitatives.